By Deirdre Brocklebank, BA, Dip Reflexology

Surrogate EFT tapping refers to doing tapping for another, through a surrogate (or proxy). It can be done for creatures (animals, birds etc), plants and also for people who may be in emotional or physical distress or discomfort. The creature/plant/person for whom the tapping is being done does not necessarily have to be present. It is useful where a recipient is unable to tap for themselves (in the case of creatures and/or plants) or for humans because they may be ill, physically and/or mentally incapable, unconscious etc or they may be too young to do so.

How does it work?

The tapper connects their energy system to the recipient’s by focusing their attention on the recipient. Then, by keeping their focus on a particular aspect of the recipient’s energy system, (an emotional state, a physical injury, an illness etc) they change their own system by tapping on the points and this also changes the recipient’s through the connection.

There are differing views concerning whether or not you need to get the recipient’s permission to tap for them. Some believe that we should ask them first. If for some reason that’s not feasible, then others believe that we should ask a Higher Power for permission to proceed. Others believe that if neither of those is done, that they should at least first recite some permission generating statement like, “I offer this healing work only if it is in the highest and best good of the person receiving”. Whatever you choose to do is up to you but the following words by Gary Craig {founder of the Emotional Freedom Techniques (EFT)} may assist you to make a decision.

“I know a lot of people in the healing professions and over 1,000 clients and I have never heard of a single case where someone was disadvantaged in any way by well-intentioned surrogate/intentional work. I have, however, heard many reports of successes by using this ‘way out’ procedure. From all I can tell, these surrogate attempts either provide worthwhile benefits or fall on their face. But they don’t cause harm. It’s as though our efforts are stopped if, indeed, we are treading in areas which are not for the client’s highest good. This is not to suggest, however, that getting permission isn’t a good idea. I get permission myself but I don’t do it in a formal way. Rather, I just get an intuitive notion regarding whether or not to proceed. This is my form of asking for Guidance. I lean on this intuitive notion even when I’m in a one-on-one session (and obviously have client permission). It is continually guiding me as to which avenue to pursue with the client.”

Procedure

There are several ways to do surrogate tapping. For example:

A. Tapping on yourself for another person/creature/plant – imagine you ARE that recipient.

1. Take a deep breath and focus on the recipient(s) being clear about your intention and what you seek to change. “Tune in to” their emotions and feelings and get a feeling for what needs to be done to help them to improve or resolve their situation/feelings etc.

2. Make a statement that you are that recipient(s) eg “I am” or “My name is” [insert name(s) of the recipient(s)] followed by a concise setup statement that describes the problem.

3. Do the EFT tapping sequence, starting with the PR point using “I/we” in the statements.

Examples:

For an individual:

“My name is James. Even though I am afraid of heights, I deeply and completely love and accept myself.”

For a group:

“We are the people of Canberra. Even though we are fearful that the fires will return to Canberra and we will be burnt out, we deeply and completely accept ourselves.”

Mother for her child:

“I am my child (or name). Even though I am terrified of dogs I deeply and completely love and accept myself.”

B. Tapping on yourself for another person/creature/plant – THINKING ABOUT that recipient.

1. Take a deep breath and focus on the recipient(s) being clear about your intention and what you seek to change.
“Tune in to” their emotions and feelings and get a feeling for what needs to be done to help them to improve or resolve their situation/feelings etc.

2. Develop a concise setup statement that describes the problem and identifies for whom/what you are tapping.

3. Do the EFT tapping sequence, starting with the PR point and suitable statement.

Examples:

For an individual:

“Even though James is afraid of heights, I deeply and completely accept James.”

For a group:

“Even though the people of Canberra are fearful that the fires will return to Canberra and they will be burnt out I deeply and completely accept them.”

Mother for her child:

“Even though my child (name) is terrified of dogs I deeply and completely love and accept my child (name).”

C. Tapping on someone else for another person/creature/plant – both THINKING ABOUT that recipient while the surrogate is holding or touching the recipient

1. Both take a deep breath and focus on the recipient(s) being clear about your intentions and what you seek to change.

2. Develop a concise setup statement that describes the problem and identifies for whom/what you are tapping.
3. Do the EFT tapping sequence on the surrogate person, starting with the PR point and suitable statement.

Examples:

For an individual:

“Even though James is afraid of heights, he can love and accept himself.”

Mother for her child:

“Even though (name) is terrified of dogs (name) can deeply and completely love and accept him/herself.

As mentioned above, surrogating can be done for all living organisms, not just for people. I have had participants in my workshops tap for plants and animals as well as for humans. One example for animals is outlined in my post “Surrogating a Dog”. An example for tapping a child is outlined in my post “EFT for Hiccups”.

I have also had clients tap for inanimate objects, including a house which they were trying to sell. We gave the house permission to move onto another loving family who would care for it as much as my friend’s family had cared for it when they lived there. The house sold soon after we did the tapping. I also tapped for my own house when I was feeling nervous being left alone in the house when my husband was away. I felt I had transmitted my negative thoughts to the house. I tapped a setup along the lines of not feeling strong and feeling threatened, followed by the choice statement of choosing to feel safe and strong.

I have also done surrogate tapping for friends from overseas and the following is a brief outline of one such occasion when we communicated via email between tapping.

My Austrian friend (whom I first met in India two years before), had a very sore lower back with low energy and she was feeling generally despondent.

29 April – I emailed asking for permission to use EFT for her back.

29 April -Lucy (not real name) emailed me back giving permission for EFT. She described the location of pain in the ‘little “valley” left and right of the vertebral spine.” The pain was apparently associated with bad periods but it didn’t stop when her bleeding did. She was advised by her acupuncturist that she had problems with the earth and wood elements and that her stomach meridian was blocked (Earth element).

I tapped for Lucy for the pain in her back then went to bed. When I got up I received the following email from Lucy.

30 April – “I don’t know if you could do anything for me, but I feel much better today. It was easier for me to come out from bed. Maybe it helped a little because you only cared about me. Thanks anyway. The pain is not gone, but I feel a little easier.”

1 May – I emailed Lucy to say that I had done surrogate EFT healing for her last night (our time) using the following (tapping on all points in face, body and hands).

“Even though Lucy has pain and discomfort in her lower back, I deeply and completely accept Lucy.”
Phrase: “Pain and discomfort in Lucy’s back.”

“I choose that Lucy feels comfortable in her back and that she feels more relaxed.”

May 1 – Lucy emailed me “I feel better in my back.” Her acupuncturist said he “was feeling a lot more energy in me.” He asked her about her ‘hidden’ problems, “about my childhood, about my parents, and about my relationship with my husband.” “Gerry (not real name) and I remembered when you looked at my feet in India, what you told me about my past, my left foot was so blocked, the right one not more better. Restrictions, behaviour, good manners, pressure in me, fulfil all the family duties…you told me the things I know and feel.” Her husband was not understanding of her when she suggested that he should see her acupuncturist with her. He (the acupuncturist) wanted to help her work out her “mental” state.

May 2 – I emailed Lucy and explained that the issues with Gerry may have arisen because I tapped on her back pain and because she felt more relaxed.

I informed her that I also had just tapped on the following (on all points in face, body and hands): “Even though Lucy feels that others don’t understand her life’s path and this worries her, I deeply and completely accept Lucy.

“Releasing Lucy’s feelings that others don’t understand her life’s path and her worries about this.”

“I choose that Lucy feels confident, happy and exhilarated with the knowledge that she is learning.” I repeated the above setup and the releasing statement then the following:

“I choose that Lucy trusts in her beliefs and does not let others’ beliefs worry her.”

May 3- Lucy emailed back. “Thank you very much, I was really moved to read what wonderful words you found for me, and when I read it, I feel so good. It helped, feel free in the moment, no pain in my back, it is better to get up in the morning, my head is so free, and my brain produces friendly thoughts.”

9/9/2008

Deirdre Brocklebank BA, Diploma of Reflexology, Cert, IV Assessment and Workplace Training, EFT Practitioner and teacher, Theta Healing Practitioner. Member RAA. d_brocklebank@hotmail.com http://www.ntpages.com.au/therapist/452

